Travels with Tim and Lisa

"If my discoveries are other people's commonplaces I cannot help it – for me they retain a momentous freshness" (Elizabeth Bowen)

Update (Home again #2)

Posted by Lisa Hill on June 24, 2015

My apologies for not updating things here…
This is not really a public blog like ANZ LitLovers or my (now retired) LisaHillSchoolStuff blog), it’s only followed by my friends and family so, pushed for time and not always thinking clearly, I let it slip. I’ve kept up with some friends on Facebook and on the ANZ LitLovers blog and others by email, but I should have got back here sooner in case there is someone out there wondering…

My father has rallied sufficiently for me to come home to Melbourne the day before yesterday, where I wait with some unease for the next phone call summoning me north. He’s only two hours away now, not 36 hours, and I am doing my best to keep that distance to Qld in perspective.

I am blessed with wonderful friends who have taken care of things for me while I was away, and now I am just taking things easy, pottering around in the garden and the kitchen, watching Masterchef but not Australia’s nasty politics on TV, walking the dog with my beloved Tim, and reading and blogging to take my mind off thoughts that threaten to derail me.

And travel? Well…

By coincidence I received Stephanie Alexander’s newsletter today, full of enticing chat about her recent trip to Peru. So tucked away in the back of my mind, for later, for when things have healed, is the idea of maybe taking a coastal cruise to South America. It’s good to have a little ambition like that, to hold on to…

4 Responses to “Update (Home again #2)”

  1. Jonathan said

    I’m glad to see things are settling down a bit for you and your family. Things will no doubt feel normal generally when your reading schedule is back to normal. 🙂

  2. Dagny said

    Glad you’re hanging in there, Lisa.

    • Lisa Hill said

      Thanks, Dagny. Odd how just seeing my little pile of still-to-be read Zolas lifted my spirits! It made me realise how, for readers like us, being away from home also means not having a store of books to read and it adds to the anxiety because you can’t just go and get a book you know you’ll like to take your mind off things. A kindle is just not the same…

Leave a Reply

 
