Travels with Tim and Lisa

"If my discoveries are other people's commonplaces I cannot help it – for me they retain a momentous freshness" (Elizabeth Bowen)

A day for family and friends, June 3rd 2015

Posted by Lisa Hill on June 4, 2015

Today was a day to catch up with family and friends. In the morning I met up at the London Review Bookshop café with my sister, her daughter and my three grand-nieces, including meeting the littlest one for the first time. So much to talk about! But yes, I did find time to buy a new book: three novels in one by Henry Green, so I shall be ready for Henry Green Week next time it comes along.

At lunchtime, we had a blogger’s lunch.  Yes, all four of us are bloggers!  Stu from Winston’s Dad wasn’t able to be with us due to a recent bereavement but he was with us in spirit as we met up again with expat Aussie Kim from Reading Matters, and had the pleasure of meeting Jonathan from Intermittencies of the Mind for the first time.  Jonathan is also a fellow contributor to The Works of Emile Zola,  so there was much bookish talk over a splendid pub lunch at the Marquis Cornwallis in Bloomsbury, not far from our hotel.

IMG_1736

(Tim who blogs at The Logical Place, took the photo, so he’s not in the picture. Great photo, Tim, thanks!)

15 Responses to “A day for family and friends, June 3rd 2015”

  1. Jonathan said

    That was a quick post! Thanks for the fun lunch, it was great meeting everyone. I’m sitting in St James’s Park at the moment, reading and drinking a coffee. I think I’ll walk to Victoria Stn…I don’t think it’s far.

  2. kimbofo said

    Yes, great to meet Jonathan and catch up with you both. It was a lovely afternoon. I, too, went for a long walk all the way home via Marylebone and Hyde Park. Stopped for a coffee along the way. All up, about 8 miles!

  3. Dagny said

    What fun! Too bad I am on the other side of the pond.

  4. Louise said

    What a fantastic day. I know how nice it is meeting fellow bloggers and to catch up with family.

  5. Lovely Lisa … I love reading about blogger meet-ups. It looks very cheery. What a shame about Stu.

  6. Cressida said

    It was terrific to see you both. Really glad the girls were able to come as well. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

    • Lisa Hill said

      It was such a pleasure to meet my littlest grandniece, and to see how the girls have grown. You have a lovely family, Cress and you should be very proud of your daughters:)
      I can’t wait to show the photos to Grandma and Grandpa!

Leave a Reply

 
