Travels with Tim and Lisa

"If my discoveries are other people's commonplaces I cannot help it – for me they retain a momentous freshness" (Elizabeth Bowen)

Courtauld Gallery, London, June 3 2015

Posted by Lisa Hill on June 3, 2015

We had a leisurely breakfast at the Russell Square café overlooking the park, and then set off for the Courtauld Gallery, now housed at Somerset House (the building that originally housed my birth certificate, when it was where births, marriages and deaths were registered.)
The building is gorgeous, with an especially stunning staircase:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We’re just off to dinner now, but will add some of my photos of the artworks when I get back. (Unless I drink too much champagne…)

….
Just back from dinner at the Cosmoba Cucina Italiana – nothing special, but a tasty meal and the service was friendly and efficient:)

Here’s some photos of artworks I especially liked at the Courtauld:

Update, a bit later: Hmm, the slideshow isn’t working.  It’s not the effects of champagne, I didn’t have any.  Maybe the images are too big and take too long to load.  Maybe the ISP here at the hotel isn’t very good.  I’ll try again tomorrow.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Responses to “Courtauld Gallery, London, June 3 2015”

  1. Jonathan said

    The slideshows appear to be working ok. I remember I had similar trouble with them – for a while they don’t seem to work and then all of sudden they work!

    Did you manage to keep out of the wind and rain today? Should be better tomorrow.

    • Lisa Hill said

      Phew! I’m relieved about the slideshows, it took so long to do them!
      I think we were lucky with the weather, it was windy, but the rain was over by the time we were out and about.
      I’ve brought my trusty Mont from home, so I’m well prepared:)

  2. kimbofo said

    I love the Courthauld/Somerset House and walk past them almost every day (I go for a regular lunch time walk that takes from the south side of the river to the north and back again), but it’s been a long time since I visited the gallery. I always recommend it to friends and colleagues looking for cheap/interesting outings though.

  3. Gorgeous Lisa. I don’t think I’ve been there. Isn’t the Coutauld where Anita Brookner worked?

    Slideshow a bit slow, but then again I’m in a car driving … Passengering! … Down the Hume to you know where! I’m probably lucky to be seeing anything.

    • Lisa Hill said

      Could be about Brookner, I’d have to Google to know for sure, But it is a must-see gallery, on a par with the Wallace Collection. About a ten minute walk from where we are in Bloomsbury.
      Re the slideshow: I’m using my #OldTechnology camera for the photos because it’s much better, but the downside is that the files are big and I would usually compress them. But I didn’t think of this before I left home, and I don’t have a program to compress them on the laptop I’ve brought with me. I think there is a way to do it with what’s pre-installed, but I haven’t figured it out yet…
      WP compresses them a bit when it uploads them to the blog, but not enough for viewers e.g. travellers with low bandwidth, I guess.

Leave a Reply

 
