Travels with Tim and Lisa

"If my discoveries are other people's commonplaces I cannot help it – for me they retain a momentous freshness" (Elizabeth Bowen)

Off to Scotland! En route to Edinburgh 4.10.05

Posted by Lisa Hill on January 22, 2006

We had vague ambitions to go to the York Railway Museum (Tim) and the York Castle Museum (Lisa) but it was all too hard and so we took the 9.54 to Edinburgh. The scenery was much like before: little patchwork fields punctuated by small towns, and old stone and brick bridges over rivers and streams. There were signs of impending autumn: most trees were still resolutely green but occasionally there was a splash of yellow or red, and what appeared to be cotoneasters had little red berries.
Durham station was typical of the stations en route, with a great curved roof and steel lacework on top of Corinthian columns, reminiscent of some of our older stations at home. We caught a glimpse of Durham Cathedral amongst the rows and rows of terraces down in the valley…

2 Responses to “Off to Scotland! En route to Edinburgh 4.10.05”

  1. Fred Gregory said

    I just finished a furious 2 days in Venice . Not everything went wrong but the employees of the Doges Palace went on strike our day to tour it. I did see most of all I had expected. Enjoyed your diary. I love Melbourne.Can’t get Victoria Bitter here in my part of the US. I am a Ned Kelly junkie and have read extensively about him.( Ian Jones & Peter Carey ) The movie sound track ( 1970 ) is great.The one starring Mick Jager. I have been To Glenn Rowan and the Melbourne Goal and seen the armour.

    I am also a big fan of Slim Dusty ( RIP) and Arthur Blanche

    But the reason I am commenting is that I missed an opportunity to take a photo of the Fenice while rushing to catch up with my tour group. Where is your email contact so that i can give you mine thus permitting you to send your pics of the restored opera house.? I also just read City of Falling Angels

  2. HillFamilySouthernDivision said

    Hello, Fred,
    I don’t have my email address on the site because it attracts spam.
    Alas, I don’t have any other photos of La Fenice, just the one on site, and you can copy that with the usual right-click of the mouse.
    Nice to hear that you like Melbourne; it is a beautiful city. Next time you come, don’t bother with the VB, try some of our lovely Aussie wines instead!
    Best wishes
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

 
